BlazeDS, Enums, and a comedy of very small errors

For the past two nights while working on my side project, I’ve been banging my head against the wall trying to pass Enums back and forth across BlazeDS to my Flex Client.

I know it’s possible, after all, I’ve seen it on the internet….

However, depsite what ol’ man google said, I was getting errors when sending the enums back from Flex to my server (though they went fine the other way).

In addition to the standard Flex / BlazeDS stack, I’ve been using two very handy open source tools :

  • dpHibernate to assist with serialization of Hibernate Lazy proxies
  • DTO2FX for some really funky AS class generation

Turns out that very small bugs inside each of these were to blame.  I post here in case — through some odd twist of fate —  you, dear reader, have the same stack:

dpHibernate

dpHibernate was attempting to deserialize Enum classes as a hibernate proxy.  Adding a test for Enum inside the isSimple method of the HibernateSerializer took care of that:


    private boolean isSimple(Object obj)
    {
        return ((obj == null)
                || (obj instanceof String)
                || (obj instanceof Character)
                || (obj instanceof Boolean)
                || (obj instanceof Number)
                || (obj instanceof Date)
                || (obj instanceof Calendar)
                || (obj instanceof Document))
                || (obj instanceof Enum);
    }

DTO2FX

DTO2FX uses an (IMHO) overly complicated template for their generated Enums.  Rather than just use the method discussed here, which allows for a simple enum client side class, they use a much more complex template.  It requires the use of a custom Serializer / Deserializer within Blaze.

Here, I thought of a few approaches:

Change the template used by DTO2FX and recompile my custom version

This requires downloading no less than 5 seperate open source projects from CVS (who the hell uses CVS anymore?) and working out what was going on.  I have previously given up on changing DTO2FX as a simple task, so didn’t even bother this time.

Don’t use DTO2FX to generate the Enums — do it by hand

I’m not using a large number of Enums in my project, and I can live with hand coding them.  However, one of the wonderful features of DTO2FX, is that it uses compile time checking of your Java project to ensure that every dependent type has been generated.  If you miss a type out (even intentionally), you get an error at compile time.  Sadly, there’s no way to turn this behaviour off — which meant I had to consider:

Stop using DTO2FX completely

I seriosuly considered this.  I love DTO2FX because it’s quick to use, maintains my classes in the background, and uses the Generation Gap pattern, meaning that in my generated classes I can still put custom code.  However, this is not the first time that I’ve ground to a halt because of some quirk in the way that DTO2FX generates it’s code.

Also, I find that having to make an architectural decision on my project because a tool won’t generate code in a specific way is unacceptable.  If it wasn’t so good in other ways, I’d have ditched it.

I googled for an appropriate replacement for DTO2FX, but couldn’t find one.  Which left me with….

Make DTO2FX’s Enums work.

Although the fix is simple, the debugging and locating the fault was the hard part.

In the end, all it took was adding this override to EnumPropertyProxy :

    public Object createInstance(String className)
    {
        Class cl = AbstractProxy.getClassFromClassName(className);

        if (cl.isEnum())
        {
            return new EnumHolder(cl);
        }
        else
            throw new IllegalArgumentException("**** samples.EnumProxy registered for a class which is not an enum: " + cl.getName());
    }

And from there, (after I reverted all my other hackery) it worked.

Cheers

Marty

Tagged ,

One thought on “BlazeDS, Enums, and a comedy of very small errors

  1. Valery Silaev says:

    Marty,

    Thank you for your valuable feedback.

    We just updated DTO2FX plugin — both your suggestions are applied. Now plugin is able to generate enumerations as string constants and “generation gap” for interfaces is asymmetrical (as you suggested in forum), so it’s possible to add custom methods to AS3 interfaces.

    Please refer to https://sourceforge.net/projects/cleartoolkit/files/Clear%20Toolkit%20Docs/General%20Docs/DTO2Fx.pdf/download document regarding new changes, most importantly regarding necessary settings to enable enum-to-string generation (it’s not activated by default).

    Also, now you can download DTO2FX plugin separately, please see https://sourceforge.net/projects/cleartoolkit/files/, folder DTO2FX

    Regards,
    Valery Silaev.
    Clear Toolkit developer

Leave a Reply

